MDM 4UI:  2015-2016                                                                                         Unit 3:  Probability

 

Essential Skills

E1  Recognize and describe how probabilities are used to represent the likelihood of a result of an experiment

E2  Describe a discrete sample space and a continuous sample space

E3  Determine theoretical probability and solve related problems

E4  Determine experimental probability and make comparisons to theoretical probability

E5  Determine the complement of an event and solve related problems

E6  Determine if events are mutually exclusive and solve related problems

E7  Determine if events are independent and solve related problems

E8  Solve probability problems using counting principles

 

Date

Topic Practice
1 Day 1:  Mon. Oct. 26

Day 2:  Tues. Oct. 27

Simple Probability Handout +

p. 209-210 #2, 3

2 Day 3:  Wed. Oct. 28

Day 4:  Thurs. Oct. 29

Theoretical Probability p. 218-220

#1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13

3 Day 1:  Fri. Oct. 30

Day 2:  Mon. Nov. 2

Experimental and Theoretical Probability p. 210-212

#4, 5, 8, 9, 12

4 Day 3:  Tues. Nov. 3

Day 4:  Wed. Nov. 4

Probability Using Counting Techniques

(Tree diagrams, Venn diagrams, permutation and combinations)

Venn:  Pg. 228 #4, 5, 7

Tree:  Pg. 245-247 #2, 7

Perms:  Pg. 256 #9, 11, 12

Combs:  Pg. 263 #9, 10, 18

5 Day 1:  Thurs. Nov. 5

Day 2:  Fri. Nov. 6

QUIZ (Days 1 – 3)

Mutually Exclusive Events

Pg. 228 #2, 3, 9, 10
6 Day 3:  Mon. Nov. 9

Day 4:  Tues. Nov. 10

Independent Events Pg. 245-247 #3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13
7 Day 1:  Wed. Nov. 11

Day 2:  Thurs. Nov. 12

Dependent Events

(Conditional Probability)

Pg. 235-238 #2, 5, 7, 8, 11, 13, 14
PD DAY:  Fri. Nov. 13

(Commencement)

Last Day of Term 1:  Report Card marks calculated up to this point.  
8 Day 3:  Mon. Nov. 16

Day 4:  Tues. Nov. 17

Odds Pg. 263

#11,12, 13, 14, 15, 16

9 Day 1:  Wed. Nov. 18

Day 2:  Thurs. Nov. 19

Review

– go over ALL examples worked through in class lessons.  Make sure you can do them!

p. 268-269

#5, 7, 9, 10

p. 270

#1, 2, 3, 5, 7

10 Day 3:  Fri. Nov. 20

Day 4:  Mon. Nov. 23

Unit Test